Advertised plan ≠ usable plan
18 of 44
Products with both public advertised and usable prices that required a different named plan for the smaller study scenario.
Original research
Among BeltStack-reviewed products with public advertised and usable prices, the named plan on the price page is often not the plan required to run that category's frozen small-team workflow — but this is not true in every category.
62 products · 6 categories · Prices verified September 25, 2026
Advertised plan ≠ usable plan
18 of 44
Products with both public advertised and usable prices that required a different named plan for the smaller study scenario.
Field service usable price is a quote
8 of 17
BeltStack-reviewed field-service products requiring a quote for the usable workflow.
Free scheduling plan still usable at 5 staff
1 of 7
Among scheduling products advertising an ongoing free plan.
What this sample shows, with denominators attached.
Two different questions, collected on the same date.
Advertised entry is the lowest publicly listed ongoing recurring price for a named plan available to a new US customer. A true ongoing free plan is recorded as $0. Time-limited trials are not treated as free. Promotional discounts were ignored.
Usable entry is the lowest publicly priced named plan that satisfies the frozen category workflow at the scenario size. Where that plan is sold per seat, per employee, or as a base-plus-unit formula, the study records the resulting scenario total as a monthly equivalent.
"Usable" does not mean best, recommended, or ideal. It means the minimum qualifying plan under the published methodology. A higher-priced plan may be a better operational fit. This study does not rank products and does not replace BeltStack editorial recommendations.
The gap between those two numbers is the research question. Sometimes the advertised named plan already covers the frozen workflow. Sometimes a buyer must move up a tier, add seats, or request a quote. In invoicing, the advertised named plan usually was the usable plan. That negative finding is part of the result.
Each category uses its own frozen small-team workflow.
| Category | Smaller scenario | Larger scenario | Frozen workflow |
|---|---|---|---|
| CRM | 5 seats | 10 seats | Contacts, pipeline, tasks, history |
| Field service | 1 office + 4 field | 2 office + 8 field | Customer/job records, scheduling, dispatch, mobile, native invoice, payment workflow |
| Payroll | 5 employees | 10 employees | Full-service payroll with tax calculation/filing, direct deposit, W-2, stubs/self-service |
| Invoicing | Invoicing workspace | — | Create, send, and track invoices; customers; accept or record payment |
| Scheduling | 5 staff calendars | — | Appointments and calendars — not field dispatch |
| Time tracking | 5 users | 10 users | Time entry, timesheets, export/basic reporting |
The advertised-vs-usable gap is common, not universal.
The study measured 62 category-product identities BeltStack already reviews across six software categories. It is a reviewed-product sample, not a market census. Prices were verified September 25, 2026 and are a historical 2026 snapshot.
On 44 products where both advertised entry and usable scenario cost were public numbers, 18 required a different named plan to run the smaller frozen workflow. Scheduling and CRM support that finding most clearly. Field service expresses the same buyer problem as missing public prices: 8 of 17 usable rows are quotes. Time tracking supports the finding moderately — some free advertised plans survive five users, then do not survive ten. Payroll mostly shows per-employee-per-month scaling on the same named plan, with a few plan-gating exceptions. Invoicing mostly shows no gap.
That mix matters. If the page reported only the 18-of-44 figure, a reader could treat advertised-vs-usable mismatch as a law of software pricing. The invoicing result is the control: under this methodology, most invoicing products in the sample already sell the frozen workflow at the advertised named plan.
Lead with visibility, not a dollar average.
In this sample, 8 of 17 BeltStack-reviewed field-service products required a quote for the usable workflow. Only 5 of 17 had a public usable dollar value under the frozen scenario. See the field service software roundup for editorial product coverage; this section is about list-price visibility, not product ranking.
Can a small field-service business get a public usable price?
17 BeltStack-reviewed field-service products
Public usable price · 5
Housecall Pro, Kickserv, mHelpDesk, Service Fusion, ServiceM8
Quote required · 8
BuildOps, FieldEdge, FieldPulse, ServiceTitan, ServiceTrade, Simpro, Workiz, Zuper
Price unavailable / not disclosed · 3
Jobber, Oracle Field Service, WorkWave Service
Doesn't meet this workflow · 1
Connecteam
Dollar medians in this category use only the 5 products with a publicly calculable usable price. That is 5 of 17.
Among the five field-service products with a publicly calculable usable price, the median was $149 for 1 office + 4 field and $208 for 2 office + 8 field. Numeric N=5 of 17.
Per-seat packaging, with plan gates at the advertised entry.
Eight of nine CRM products in the sample had public usable dollar values. The usable median was $85 at five users and $170 at ten users, numeric N=8. All eight numeric products retained the same usable named plan from 5 to 10; the scenario total doubles because pricing is per-seat. See the CRM software roundup for editorial coverage.
2 of 9 CRM products advertise an ongoing free plan. Neither free plan satisfies the five-seat frozen workflow. Close is a useful plan-gating example: the advertised entry is not the usable five-seat plan, and the usable scenario total is $245 at five seats and $490 at ten.
What does the frozen CRM workflow cost when the team doubles from five seats to ten?
Monthly equivalent, USD
Freshsales
Monday CRM
Pipedrive
Zoho CRM
HubSpot
Copper
Salesforce
Close
| Product | 5 seats | 10 seats |
|---|---|---|
| Freshsales | $45 | $90 |
| Monday CRM | $60 | $120 |
| Pipedrive | $70 | $140 |
| Zoho CRM | $70 | $140 |
| HubSpot | $100 | $200 |
| Copper | $115 | $230 |
| Salesforce | $125 | $250 |
| Close | $245 | $490 |
Headline analysis is full-service payroll only.
The payroll headline uses the full-service class: tax calculation and filing, direct deposit, W-2, and stubs or employee self-service. There are 10 full-service products in the sample, 7 with public usable dollar values, and 3 that require a quote. See the payroll software roundup for editorial coverage.
Among those 7 numeric full-service products, the median was $79 at five employees and $109 at ten employees. Most of that increase is base-plus-per-employee-per-month (PEPM) scaling on the same named plan, not a forced tier change.
Patriot Payroll is the clean plan-gating example: the advertised named plan is Basic, while the frozen full-service workflow requires Full Service. The usable scenario totals in this snapshot are $62 at five employees and $87 at ten.
What does full-service payroll cost in this sample when headcount doubles from five to ten?
Monthly equivalent, USD
Patriot Payroll
Square Payroll
Wave
Gusto
OnPay
SurePayroll
QuickBooks Payroll
| Product | 5 emp. | 10 emp. |
|---|---|---|
| Patriot Payroll | $62 | $87 |
| Square Payroll | $65 | $95 |
| Wave | $70 | $100 |
| Gusto | $79 | $109 |
| OnPay | $79 | $109 |
| SurePayroll | $80.25 | $117.33 |
| QuickBooks Payroll | $85 | $120 |
A free advertised plan does not automatically cover five staff calendars.
Scheduling is the clearest advertised-vs-usable chart in the study. The frozen workflow is appointments plus five staff calendars — not field dispatch. See the scheduling software roundup for editorial coverage.
Among 7 scheduling products advertising an ongoing free plan, 1 remains free and usable at five staff: Square Appointments. 5 require a publicly priced paid plan: Calendly, YouCanBook.me, Setmore, Appointy, Zoho Bookings. 1 requires paid functionality but usable USD is not disclosed: SimplyBook.me.
Separately, Acuity Scheduling already advertises a paid Starter plan and requires the higher Standard plan for five staff calendars. That is a paid-to-higher-paid gate, not part of the free-plan count.
Free plan availability does not automatically imply free support for five staff calendars. The study does not describe those free plans as fake or misleading; it records whether they satisfy the frozen workflow.
Does the advertised entry price survive a five-staff scheduling workflow?
Monthly equivalent, USD
Square Appointments
Setmore
Acuity Scheduling
Zoho Bookings
Appointy
Calendly
YouCanBook.me
SimplyBook.me
| Product | Advertised entry | Usable scenario cost |
|---|---|---|
| Square Appointments | $0 | $0 |
| Setmore | $0 | $25 |
| Acuity Scheduling | $16 | $27 |
| Zoho Bookings | $0 | $30 |
| Appointy | $0 | $39.99 |
| Calendly | $0 | $50 |
| YouCanBook.me | $0 | $81 |
| SimplyBook.me | $0 | USD usable price not published |
Some free plans survive five users. Fewer survive ten.
4 of 8 time-tracking products advertise an ongoing free plan. At five users, Clockify and Everhour remain free. Toggl Track and Harvest require paid plans at that size. At ten users, Clockify and Everhour also require paid plans — none of the advertised-free products remain $0. See the time tracking software roundup for editorial coverage.
The usable median was $39.18 at five users and $87.50 at ten users, numeric N=8. The difference is not a universal price increase caused only by seat count. Several products also change plans: Clockify moves from Free to Basic, Everhour from Free to Team, and Timely from Starter to Premium.
Which advertised-free time trackers still cover five users — and what happens at ten?
Monthly equivalent, USD
ClockifyFree → Basic
EverhourFree → Team
Hubstaff
Time Doctor
Harvest
TimelyStarter → Premium
Toggl Track
RescueTime
| Product | 5 users | 10 users |
|---|---|---|
| Clockify | $0 | $39.90 |
| Everhour | $0 | $85 |
| Hubstaff | $24.95 | $49.90 |
| Time Doctor | $33.35 | $66.70 |
| Harvest | $45 | $90 |
| Timely | $45 | $160 |
| Toggl Track | $45 | $90 |
| RescueTime | $80 | $160 |
The advertised named plan usually was the usable plan.
All 8 invoicing products had public usable dollar values. The median was $19.50. 7 of 8 products used the advertised named plan for the frozen workflow. 3 ongoing free plans remain usable under that workflow. See the invoicing software roundup for editorial coverage.
Bonsai is the exception: advertised $9/mo billed annually on Basic, usable plan Essentials at $19, because Basic does not satisfy the frozen invoice workflow.
This section is useful because it shows the advertised-vs-usable problem is not universal. The study does not treat invoicing as a cheaper category. The invoicing workspace scenario is not economically equivalent to a five-seat CRM or a field-service stack.
A completeness class, not a vendor quality score.
Each product identity is classified by whether advertised entry and usable scenario cost can both be completed from public official sources. This is a deterministic pricing-completeness classification. It is not a vendor quality score, and this page does not label vendors most or least transparent.
Public pricing
44
Partial pricing
7
Quote required
11
Public pricing means both advertised entry and usable scenario cost were numerically complete. Partial pricing means at least one required public number could not be completed without a quote or missing disclosure. Quote required means the usable (or advertised) path depends on sales contact under this methodology.
One table per category. Product names link to BeltStack reviews.
Dollar cells are monthly-equivalent scenario totals for usable columns, and advertised list entry for the advertised column. Status labels are public wording, not internal enums. Official source is the canonical evidence URL used in collection. There are no vendor signup buttons in these tables.
| Product | Advertised entry | Usable plan | 5 seats | 10 seats | Pricing visibility | Verified | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Close | $19/user/mo | Essentials | $245 | $490 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Copper | $23/user/mo billed annually | Basic | $115 | $230 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Freshsales | $9/user/mo billed annually | Growth | $45 | $90 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| HubSpot | Free | Sales Hub Starter | $100 | $200 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Keap | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Partial pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Monday CRM | $12/user/mo billed annually | Basic | $60 | $120 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Pipedrive | $14/user/mo billed annually | Lite | $70 | $140 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Salesforce | Official sources conflict | Starter Suite | $125 | $250 | Partial pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Zoho CRM | Free | Standard | $70 | $140 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Product | Advertised entry | Usable plan | 1 office + 4 field | 2 office + 8 field | Pricing visibility | Verified | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BuildOps | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Connecteam | Free | Doesn't meet this workflow | Doesn't meet this workflow | Doesn't meet this workflow | Partial pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| FieldEdge | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| FieldPulse | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Housecall Pro | $59/mo billed annually | Essentials | $149 | $369 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Jobber | $29/mo billed annually | Connect | Price unavailable | Price unavailable | Partial pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Kickserv | $60/mo | Start | $60 | $119 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| mHelpDesk | $169/mo | Growth | $249 | $374 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Oracle Field Service | $225/user/mo | Oracle Fusion Field Service Cloud Service | Price unavailable | Price unavailable | Partial pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Service Fusion | $208/mo billed annually | Starter | $208 | $208 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| ServiceM8 | Free | Starter | $29 | $29 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| ServiceTitan | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| ServiceTrade | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Simpro | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Workiz | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| WorkWave Service | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Partial pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Zuper | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Product | Advertised entry | Usable plan | 5 employees | 10 employees | Pricing visibility | Verified | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ADP | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Deel | $49/person/mo | US PEO | $625 | $1250 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Gusto | $49 + $6/person/mo | Simple | $79 | $109 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Justworks | $79/person/mo | PEO Basic | $395 | $790 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| OnPay | $49 + $6/person/mo | Payroll | $79 | $109 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Patriot Payroll | $17 + $5/person/mo | Full Service Payroll | $62 | $87 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Paychex | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| QuickBooks Payroll | $50 + $7/person/mo | Workforce Payroll | $85 | $120 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Rippling | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | Quote required | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Square Payroll | $35 + $6/person/mo | Full-service payroll | $65 | $95 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| SurePayroll | $39 + $7/person/mo | Full Service | $80.25 | $117.33 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Wave | $40 + $6/person/mo | Payroll | $70 | $100 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Product | Advertised entry | Usable plan | Workspace | Pricing visibility | Verified | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bonsai | $9/mo billed annually | Essentials | $19 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| FreshBooks | $23/mo | Lite | $23 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| HoneyBook | $29/mo billed annually | Starter | $29 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Invoice Ninja | Free | Free | $0 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| QuickBooks | $20/mo | Solopreneur | $20 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Wave | Free | Starter | $0 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Xero | $25/mo | Early | $25 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Zoho Invoice | Free | Free | $0 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Product | Advertised entry | Usable plan | 5 staff calendars | Pricing visibility | Verified | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acuity Scheduling | $16/mo billed annually | Standard | $27 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Appointy | Free | Growth | $39.99 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Calendly | Free | Standard | $50 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Setmore | Free | Pro | $25 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| SimplyBook.me | Free | Basic | Not publicly disclosed | Partial pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Square Appointments | Free | Square Free | $0 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| YouCanBook.me | Free | Team | $81 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Zoho Bookings | Free | Basic | $30 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Product | Advertised entry | Usable plan | 5 users | 10 users | Pricing visibility | Verified | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clockify | Free | Free | $0 | $39.90 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Everhour | Free | Free | $0 | $85 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Harvest | Free | Teams | $45 | $90 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Hubstaff | $4.99/user/mo billed annually | Starter | $24.95 | $49.90 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| RescueTime | $7/user/mo billed annually | Team Timesheets | $80 | $160 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Time Doctor | $6.67/user/mo billed annually | Basic | $33.35 | $66.70 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Timely | $9/user/mo billed annually | Starter | $45 | $160 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
| Toggl Track | Free | Starter | $45 | $90 | Public pricing | September 25, 2026 | Official source |
BeltStack may earn a commission when you purchase through links on our site. Affiliate relationships do not determine our ratings, rankings, or recommendations.
Methodology version 1.0 · dataset edition 2026.
Sample. Software BeltStack reviews in six frozen categories: CRM, field service, payroll, invoicing, scheduling, and time tracking. 62 category-product identities and 108 product×scenario rows. This is not a market census.
Date. Prices verified September 25, 2026. Snapshot, not live pricing. Future vendor price changes do not rewrite this edition.
Sources. Official catalog, pricing page, help/pricing documentation, vendor announcement, and checkout. Third-party sources did not supply final pricing facts. Some official pages required browser verification.
Advertised entry. Lowest public ongoing recurring named-plan price available to a new US customer. True free = $0. Trials are not free. Promotions ignored.
Usable entry. Lowest publicly priced named plan meeting the frozen category workflow at scenario size. Not best, recommended, or ideal.
Cadence. Annual-billed monthly equivalent is used for normalized comparison where appropriate. Actual billing cadence is retained in the dataset.
Add-ons. Only required, public, and calculable add-ons are included in scenario cost.
Transaction fees. Excluded from subscription scenario cost.
Non-numeric statuses. Quote required, price unavailable, not publicly disclosed, doesn't meet this workflow, and official sources conflict are never encoded as $0. They are excluded from medians.
Median. Same category and scenario. Numeric N must be at least 5. Quote, unknown, and not-disclosed values are excluded.
Payroll. Headline median uses the full-service class only. PEO/EOR products remain in the dataset and tables.
Related BeltStack policy: How BeltStack reviews software.
108 product × scenario rows.
The CSV is generated from the same canonical research rows as the tables on this page. It is ungated. It does not include internal evidence notes, checklist ticks, or editorial scores.
Download the dataset (CSV)beltstack-advertised-vs-usable-pricing-2026.csv
BeltStack. "2026 Advertised vs. Usable Pricing Study." 62 products BeltStack reviews across six software categories. Prices verified September 25, 2026. https://www.beltstack.com/research/service-business-software-pricing
Canonical URL: https://www.beltstack.com/research/service-business-software-pricing
Snapshot policy and how to report a collection error.
Prices verified September 25, 2026. The study is a historical 2026 snapshot. Future vendor price changes do not silently alter the study. Research values are not connected dynamically to current review starting-price fields.
If BeltStack discovers a factual collection error, it may correct the snapshot and document the correction. A future 2027 edition would be a new snapshot, not an overwrite of this one.
If you believe a price or classification in this study was collected incorrectly, contact BeltStack with the product and source. Email support@beltstack.com or use the contact page. See also methodology corrections. BeltStack does not promise a response-time SLA.